RSS Feed

What’s in a Name

Posted on
Español: Morinda citrifolia. El noni, aal, fru...

Image via Wikipedia

If you are one of those who say, “What’s in a name”, read this… I was eager to know about an uncommon fruit NONI that my friend was researching on. The cartons labelled “Divine Noni” in a juice shop only kindled my curiosity further. Surfed the Net to gather more info about it – was glad to know that it claimed to offer an endless list of health benefits. But my happiness persisted only till I found that the fruit had as awful a name as “VOMIT FRUIT”. This was not music to my ears and my effervescing enthusiasm fizzled out.

I would never again say, “What’s in a name” … Though it is just an identity, it is always nice to hear something pleasant for a name.

 

5 responses »

  1. Anusha Fatima

    Funny things in this world. I agree with you maam.

    Reply
  2. I have heard about this fruit as noni, it has got so many medicinal properties and there are companies who make syrups out of this juice,the syrup is even HACCP certified.

    Reply
    • Even I saw many pharmacies in Chennai and Salem selling this juice. People from villages seem to be very familiar with this fruit. HACCP certification would certainly be a plus for it.

      Reply
  3. Hehehe guess what mam !! I saw a client carrrying a carton box of this!! And that’s wen I came across r frst n jus few hours back I saw a commercial about t aft months and was quite shocked to see t in ur blog 🙂 great info 😉

    Reply
  4. Thanks Affu. Commercial n client carrying a carton of Noni!!! – means Noni is catching up with our people 🙂

    Reply

What is your opinion?

